Tom Cochran

Tom Cochran

Ehemals VP und Chief Digital Strategist, Public Sector

Tom Cochran ist bei Acquia dafür zuständig, Behörden und Ämtern im ganzen Land dabei zu helfen, Cloud- und Open-Source-Technologien zu nutzen, um ihre digitalen Initiativen voranzubringen. Er war zuletzt stellvertretender Staatssekretär im US-Außenministerium, wo er für die Online- und Offline-Plattformen der öffentlichen Diplomatie zuständig war. Sein Schwerpunkt lag auf datengesteuerten Entscheidungen und dem Erreichen eines internationalen Publikums.

Davor war Cochran der Leiter für digitale Technologie im Weißen Haus, wo er an der "Open Government Directive" des Präsidenten mitwirkte und ein Team leitete, das eine sichere, stabile und skalierbare Infrastruktur für alle digitalen Eigenschaften des Weißen Hauses bereitstellen sollte.

Sein Team war dafür verantwortlich, die Online-Petitionsseite "We the People" bereitzustellen, über die die Bevölkerung direkten Zugang zu der Exekutive erhält. Cochran hatte darüber hinaus Führungspositionen im Privatsektor inne, zuletzt als Chief Technology Officer bei Atlantic Media, einem Verlag, der unter anderem die internationalen Nachrichtenmagazine The Atlantic, Quartz, Government Executive und National Journal herausbringt.

"Ich hatte das große Glück, zweimal für die Obama-Regierung tätig sein zu dürfen, einmal im Weißen Haus und einmal im Außenministerium. Beide Male wurde meine Überzeugung untermauert, dass der öffentliche Dienst einer höheren Berufung gleichkommt und eine große Bedeutung hat. Als sich Obamas Amtszeit dem Ende näherte, ging ich auf die Suche nach einer Beschäftigung, bei der ich die Verbindung zum öffentlichen Sektor beibehalten und diesen auch weiterhin unterstützen konnte", erzählt er. "Ich arbeite nun nicht mehr nur an einer Art von Problemen wie im Weißen Haus oder im Außenministerium, sondern kann nun überall anderen beim Meistern der digitalen Transformation helfen. Das ist eine großartige Chance, staatliche Stellen mithilfe von Open-Source-Technologie bei ihren Umstellungsprozessen zu unterstützen.

Cochran weiß zu schätzen, dass sich Privat- und Arbeitsleben bei Acquia sehr gut vereinen lassen.

"Ein paar Monate, nachdem ich bei Acquia angefangen hatte, gab es einen ernsten Notfall in meiner Familie. Das Unternehmen stellt die Familie an erste Stelle – ich konnte mich problemlos eine Woche lang nur um die Dinge zuhause kümmern. Das ist eine äußerst wertvolle und beeindruckende Botschaft an alle Mitarbeiter", so Cochran.

Home / Tom Cochran

Tom Cochran

VP and Chief Digital Strategist, Public Sector
Acquia, Inc.

Tom Cochran joins Acquia to help governments across the federal, state, and local sectors leverage cloud and open source to accelerate their digital initiatives. He was most recently a deputy assistant secretary at the U.S. Department of State, where he was responsible for the online and offline platforms for U.S. public diplomacy, focusing on data-driven decisions and international audience engagement.

Prior to that, Cochran was the director of digital technology at the White House, where he worked on the President's Open Government Directive, leading the team that was responsible for providing a secure, stable, and scalable infrastructure across all White House digital properties.

His team was responsible for leading the delivery of the “We the People” online petitioning site that connects people directly with the Executive branch. Cochran has also held leadership roles in the private sector, most recently as the chief technology officer at Atlantic Media, publisher of international news outlets including: The Atlantic, Quartz, Government Executive and National Journal.

“I had the good fortune of working in the Obama administration twice, once at the White House and once at the Department of State. Both times solidified my view that public service is a higher calling and an important line of work. As the administration was coming to an end, I wanted to find a role that allowed me to maintain alignment with the public sector and continue helping make government better,” he said. “Instead of owning a single series of problems at the White House or the State Department, I now have the ability to help tackle digital transformation efforts anywhere and everywhere. It really is an incredible opportunity to power government transformation efforts using open source technology.”

On a personal note, Cochran said Acquia’s commitment to work-life balance allowed him to be there when his loved ones needed him most.

“I had a serious family emergency come up just a few months into my new role. The company really emphasizes a family-first mentality and not having to stress about disappearing for a week to take care of things is incredibly valuable and a powerful message to employees,” he said.

Recent blog posts

Posted on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 - 17:00
I was delighted to be invited by our Asia Pacific team out of Australia to share my experiences leading digital transformation in the Obama Administration prior to joining Acquia. I was exposed to some incredible energy during a packed schedule in More...
Posted on Monday, November 28, 2016 - 00:00
Last summer, I was facing the imminent end of my appointment in the Obama administration. With six months until the inauguration of a new president, I needed to figure out the next step in my career, while trying to maintain the feeling that I was More...